About Us

Our Staff

The Iowa State University Seed Laboratory prides itself on offering the most up-to-date and comprehensive services available in the seed-testing industry. Certified seed technologists and analysts routinely perform traditional seed tests (warm germs, cold tests, accelerated aging, purity, noxious-weed exam, seed health, etc.) as well as trait tests herbicide bioassay, ELISA, PCR, and IEF). With more than 100 years of excellence in seed testing and customer service, you can rest assured that your samples are in good hands at the ISU Seed Lab. Call us and let us help you with all your testing needs today!

Title/Certifications Expertise Education/Training

Mike Stahr

Phone:515-294-0117
mgstahr@iastate.edu

Seed Lab Manager; Vice President AOSA;  Co-Chair, AOSA Rules Committee;
Chairperson, Vigor Committee, AOSA/SCST

 

Germination, Vigor of Large Seeds, Trait Testing, Training MS Agronomy; Certified Seed Analyst in Germination, Certified Genetic Technologist in Herbicide Bioassay and Immunoassay.

Charles Block

Phone:515-294-0551
ccblock@iastate.edu

Scientist I, Seed Health Coordinator

Seed Pathology, Seed Health, Seed-borne Plant Pathogens, Seed Health Sample Evaluation Ph.D. Iowa State University; M.S. Iowa State University; B.S. Briar Cliff University, Sioux City, IA

Tracy Bruns

Phone:515-294-6493
tlbruns@iastate.edu

Accreditation Coordinator, National Seed Health System (NSHS)

Seed Health, Seed-borne Plant Pathogens, Seed Pathology Research, Seed Health Sample Evaluation, Imported Seed Testing Program for Cucumber Green Mottle Mosaic Virus on Cucurbit Seed Ph.D Plant Pathology, Iowa State University 2015; B.S Microbiology, University of Northern Iowa, 2006; M.S. Biology, University of Northern Iowa, 2009

Kim North

Phone:515-294-0116
kimnorth@iastate.edu

Seed Analyst III

Germination, Vigor, Tetrazolium Certified Seed Analyst in Germination

Usha Arora

Phone:515-294-0120
uarora@iastate.edu

Seed Analyst III

Purity Testing, Trait Testing BS Agriculture, MS Horticulture; Registered Seed Technologist, Certified Seed Analyst in Purity and Germination, Certified Genetic Technologist in Herbicide Bioassay & Immunoassay

Jessica Blake

Phone:515-294-0116
jdwilker@iastate.edu

Seed Analyst III

Germination, Purity, Seed Health BS Biology; Seed Lab Intern 2 yrs, Seed Analyst III, Registered Seed Technologist, Certified Seed Analyst in Purity and Germination

John Ferrari

Phone:515-294-0116
ferrari@iastate.edu

Seed Analyst II 

 

Germination AA Business Information Systems

Tyler Tunning

Phone:515-294-6028
ttunning@iastate.edu

Research Associate II

 

 

 

 

Trait Purity & Adventitious Presence of Biotech Traits BS Horticulture, emphasis in fruit & vegetable production

Kaitlin Metzger

Phone:515-294-3438
kaitlinm@iastate.edu

Research Associate II

Seed Health Testing BS Agriculture Business

Brandyn Chapman

Phone:515-294-0116
bchapman@iastate.edu

Seed Analyst II

Germination, Vigor, Tetrazolium Bachelors of Science in Agriculture & Life Science Studies, with a focus in Horticulture, ISU; ISU Seed Lab Germination Undergraduate Student 3 years

Jianru Chen

Phone:515-294-0116
jrchen@iastate.edu

Seed Analyst I

Germination, Vigor, Tetrazolium BS in Statistics

Cherie Hill

Phone:515-294-6826
seedlab@iastate.edu

Customer Service Representative

Seed Lab Customer Service

Yuh-Yuan Shyy

Phone:515-294-9405
yshyy@iastate.edu

Scientist I, IT Specialist, Engineer

Computer Sys. Mgmt, Data Analysis, Seed Conditioning PhD Agricultural Engineering